Four WPIAL Class AA Wrestlers Are Golden in PIAA Championships

Sunday, March 13, 2011 | 12:00 AM

After winning 12 of 14 titles a week ago in the Southwest Regional Tournament in Johnstown, the WPIAL had a strong showing in the PIAA Tournament at Hershey. Six wrestlers made it to the finals, with four coming home with state gold, and picking up a total of 24 medals.

Of those six in the state finals, one match featured a rematch of the last two weekends. At 160 pounds, Burrell senior Travis McKillop and Charleroi sophomore Cody Wiercioch met in the finals once again after wrestling in the title match of the WPIAL and Southwest Regional Tournaments (not to mention the Powerade Wrestling Tournament). In the fourth meeting, it was McKillop who picked up the victory thanks to a 5-3 overtime win to defeat defending state champion Wiercioch and grab his first state title.

Just like the last three weeks, Derry had both of their wrestlers dominate to win state championships. Jimmy Gulibon of Derry won by tech fall at 119 in three straight matches before battling to win 6-5 in the finals over Randy Cruz of Bethlehem Catholic. Gulibon, who is a junior, won his third straight title in as many years. In addition, Derry senior Travis Shaffer added a gold medal to his state collection by winning 8-0 at 140 over Austin Matthews of Reynolds. For Shaffer, he won all four of his matches while only giving up a combined 3 points.

Freshman Jason Nolf remained perfect on the season (44-0) at 103 pounds by knocking off Joseph Byers of Boiling Springs 4-2. Nolf had his biggest scare in the semi-finals, with a 2-1 ultimate tiebreaker win over Darian Cruz of Bethlehem Catholic.

Defending state champion Nick Carr of South Fayette was unable to repeat in Hershey, falling to Zach Strickland of Muncy 4-3. The senior could not get a takedown in the final seconds of the third period to grab a lead.

WPIAL Champion Burrell, who finished third in the state in the team championships, was your champion in the team race. They won with a total of 85 points, edging out Reynolds by 1.5. In all, Burrell had five state medallists (one champion, three thirds, and a fourth place finisher). The WPIAL also had Derry finish in the top 5, placing fifth with 51 points while having two state medallists (both champions).

Listen in to the final episode of Inside the WPIAL Wrestling Circle, Thursday night at 7pm. Greg Warnock will be joined by all 4 WPIAL wrestlers who were PIAA champions over the weekend in Hershey.


103 – Jason Nolf, Kittanning dec. Joseph Byers, Boiling Springs, 4-2.

112 – Nick Roberts, North Star pinned Evan Link, Penn Cambria, 4:14.

119 – James Gulibon, Derry dec. Randy Cruz, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-5.

125 – Mason Beckman, Reynolds major dec. Cody Wheeler, Towanda, 9-1.

130 – Colin Fought, Benton dec. Laike Gardner, Biglerville, 8-6.

135 – Michael Racciato, Pen Argyl major dec. Adam Matthews, Reynolds, 10-2.

140 – Travis Shaffer, Derry major dec. Austin Matthews, Reynolds, 8-0.

145 – Nick Hodgkins, Wyomissing major dec. Cody Copeland, Greenville, 10-2.

152 – Zach Strickland, Muncy dec. Nick Carr, South Fayette, 4-3.

160 – Travis McKillop, Burrell dec. Cody Wiercioch, Charleroi, 7-3 OT.

171 – Nathaniel Brown, Lewisburg dec. Wes Phipps, Grove City, 4-2.

189 – Ryan Hembury, Muncy dec. Stephen Ceremuga, Commodore Perry, 8-4.

215 – Garth Lakitsky, Tamaqua dec. Ryan Solomon, Milton, 2-1.

285 – John Rizzo, Richland dec. Wes Tillett, Shamokin, 3-2.


103 – Darian Cruz, Bethlehem Catholic dec. Ian Brown, Hanover, 3-2.

112 – Zain Retherford, Line Mountain pinned Joshua Patrick, Ligonier Valley, 2:36.

119 – Michael Fleck, Wilson dec. Colt Cotten, Benton, 3-2.

125 – Geoffrey Alexander, Shady Side Academy dec. Ty Dively,
Claysburg-Kimmel, 6-0.

130 – Dylan D'Urso, Reynolds dec. Dave Makara, Burrell, 2-0 OT.

135 – Jeremy Landowski, Burrell dec. Damien Hopper, Allentown Central Catholic, 4-0.

140 – Luke Frey, Montoursville dec. Travis Erdman, Line Mountain, 5-1.

145 – Zach Beitz, Juniata dec. Michael Innes, Chartiers-Houston, 5-4.

152 – David Osterberg, Northwestern dec. Mike Pavasko, Steel Valley, 8-3;

160 – Tyler Gargano, Hickory dec. Elliot Riddick, Bethlehem Catholic, 3-1 TB.

171 – Dakota DesLauriers, Burrell dec. Ray O'Donnell, Saucon Valley, 4-2.

189 – Ian Gimbar, Saucon Valley dec. Jacob Shields, Brookville, 5-3.

215 – Brian Beattie, Burrell dec. Matt Mongera, Seneca, 2-1.

285 – Jeff Tarley, Beth-Center dec. Joel Yahner, Brockway, 5-1.


103 – Ryan Easter, Bedford dec. Bryan Israel, Saucon Valley, 4-3.

112 – Zeke Moisey, Bethlehem Catholic dec. Tyler Roberts, Jamestown, 4-2.

119 – Aaron Roberts, Jamestown dec. Philip Elias, Shady Side Academy, 6-1 TB.

125 – Ben Rager, Central Cambria dec. Jaydon Rice, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-3.

130 – Arty Walsh, Schuylkill Valley dec. David Batkowski, Montoursville, 2-0 OT.

135 – Peter Renda, Brandywine Heights dec. Josh Lahr, Shamokin, 3-2.

140 – David Demor, South Side dec. Ryan Todora, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-1.

145 – Troy Hembury, Muncy dec. Giullano Caloiero, Schuylkill Valley, 12-5.

152 – Joe Hibbler, Seneca by medical forfeit over Montana Trombetta, Carlynton.

160 – Casey Fuller, Western Wayne dec. Ty Walter, Mifflinburg, 4-3.

171 – August Mizia, Bentworth by medical forfeit over Colin Hedash, Northern Lehigh.

189 – Dylan Evans, Pen Argyl dec. Derek Wolford, Hanover, 3-2.

215 – Brandon Bradney, Fort LeBoeuf dec. Joel Suter, Northern Bedford, 4-3.

285 – Ben Ancheff, Williams Valley dec. Evan Daley, Fort LeBoeuf, 2-1.


103 – Zach Swarrow, Beth-Center dec. George McGuire, Fort LeBoeuf, 4-0.

112 – Vito Pasone, Wilkes-Barre Meyers pinned Brad Farley, Bermudian Springs, 2:15.

119 – Nate Giorgio, Schuylkill Valley dec. Corey Bush, Ridgway, 8-2.

125 – Nate Dias, Greenville dec. Zane Heller, Northern Lehigh, 9-6.

130 – Josh Ruppert, Delone Catholic pinned Matthew Bryer, Cochranton, 2:30.

135 – Ronnie Garbinsky, Tyrone major dec. Michael DePalma, Jeannette, 13-3.

140 – Richard Brydon, Forest Hills dec. Luciano Burriesci, Pen Argyl, 3-2.

145 – Francis Mizia, Bentworth pinned Corey Aungst, Claysburg-Kimmel, 2:19.

152 – Anthony Risaliti, Central Cambria dec. J.T. Mannozzi, Mercer, 6-4.

160 – Dylan Demain, Bentworth dec. Nate Smith, Seneca, 8-4.

171 – Sam Guidi, Fort Cherry dec. Tyler Landfried, Greenville, 7-2.

189 – David Kephart, Portage dec. Jordan Kitta, Southmoreland, 3-1.

215 – Eric Laytos, Lackawanna Trail pinned Dylan Dailey, Danville, 2:27.

285 – Quinton Hixson, Northern Bedford pinned Shane Morris, Central Cambria, 2:20.

1. BURRELL – 85
2. Reynolds – 83.5
3. Bethlehem Catholic – 76
4. Muncy – 59.5
5. DERRY – 51
6. Benton – 42.5
7. Pen Argyl – 41
8. Saucon Valley – 38
9. Seneca – 34
10. Line Mountain – 33.5

Tags: , ,

More Wrestling

Rebel Yell Podcast: Best of the Century salute to Spencer Lee and Maura Huwalt
North Allegheny becomes first WPIAL district to sponsor girls wrestling
Trib HSSN June Madness finals: Tyler Boyd, Clairton vs. Spencer Lee, Franklin Regional
13 WPIAL wrestlers rated among nation’s best in preseason rankings
Trib HSSN June Madness semifinals: Spencer Lee, Franklin Regional vs. Luke Hagy, Mt. Lebanon

click me