Moon’s Donovan Johnson leads all-state basketball selections as Pa. Player of the Year in Class 5A

Tuesday, May 14, 2019 | 1:00 PM

Moon’s Donovan Johnson was named as the state’s Class 5A boys basketball player of the year Tuesday and Adam Kaufman was named coach of the year after leading the Tigers to a PIAA title in March.

Johnson averaged 22.6 points, 9.4 rebounds, 2.3 steals and 1.5 blocks per game as Moon went 28-2. He also was the TribLive HSSN Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-7 junior was among five WPIAL players named first-team all-state in a vote of Pennsylvania sports writers. Joining him were Butler’s Ethan Morton, Lincoln Park’s Keeno Holmes, Sewickley Academy’s Isiah Warfield and Vincentian Academy’s Angelo Reeves.

The 2018-19 Pennsylvania Sports Writers All-State Boys Basketball teams, including each player’s school, height, class and scoring average (if available).



Maceo Austin, Kennedy Catholic, 6-5 sr, 22.3 ppg

Jhamir Brickus, Coatesville, 5-10 jr, 28.0 ppg

Eric Dixon, Abington, 6-7 sr, 27.6 ppg

Hakim Hart, Roman Catholic, 6-6 sr, 20.0 ppg

Ethan Morton, Butler, 6-5 jr, 27.4 ppg

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kennedy Catholic, 6-9 sr, 23.2 ppg

Sean Yoder, Pennridge, 6-2 sr, 20.5 ppg


Wesley Butler, Reading, 6-0 sr, 21.2 ppg

Tyler Crespo, Manheim Twp, 5-10 sr, 20.8 ppg

Jalen Duren, Roman Catholic, 6-9 fr, 13.3 ppg

William Jeffress, McDowell, 6-7 so, 24.0 ppg

Konrad Kiszka, La Salle College, 6-7 sr, 12.5 ppg

Seth Lundy, Roman Catholic, 6-6 sr, 14.4 ppg


Jackson Blaufeld, Allderdice, 6-3 sr, 18.0 ppg

Da’mir Faison, Hazleton, 6-7 sr, 19.7 ppg

Jack Forrest, Lower Merion, 6-4 sr, 19.5 ppg

Lucas Monroe, Abington, 6-6 sr, 15.6 ppg

Dan Petcash, Pine-Richland, 6-4 sr, 22.2 ppg

Allen Powell, La Salle College, 6-1 sr, 15.3 ppg

Jeff Woodward, Methacton, 6-9 jr, 16.3 ppg

Player of the Year: Eric Dixon, Abington

Coach of the Year: Dean Behrens, Pennridge



Vinny DeAngelo, Sun Valley, 6-1 sr, 22.8 ppg

Rahsool Diggins, Archbishop Wood, 6-1 so, 17.6 ppg

Donovan Johnson, Moon, 6-7 jr, 22.3 ppg

Jamir Reed, Mastery Charter North, 6-4 sr, 22.0 ppg

George Tinsley, Abington Heights, 6-5 sr, 19.4 ppg

Kieves Turner, Malvern Prep, 6-0 jr, 25.5 ppg


Keandre Bowles, Woodland Hills, 6-3 sr, 29.3 ppg

Michael Carmody, Mars, 6-7 jr, 15.0 ppg

Lashon Lindsey, Meadville, 6-8 sr, 23.8 ppg

Lakeem McAliley, Mastery Charter North, 6-5 sr, 22.0 ppg

Jameer Nelson Jr., Haverford School, 6-2 sr, 15.0 ppg

Andrew Recchia, Mars, 5-11 sr, 17.6 ppg

Daeshon Shepherd, Archbishop Wood, 6-4 so, 17.6 ppg


Mason Barnes, Pottsville, 6-1 jr, 14.5 ppg

Andrew Carr, West Chester East, 6-9 jr, 19.0 ppg

Deamontae Diggs, McKeesport, 6-5 jr, 20.3 ppg

Clovis Gallon Jr., York William Penn, 6-5 sr, 18.6 ppg

Luke Hedrick, Lower Dauphin, 5-11 sr, 16.9 ppg

Larry Locker, Elizabethtown, 6-5 sr, 19.0 ppg

Connor Ryan, Moon, 6-0 sr, 13.2 ppg

Player of the Year: Donovan Johnson, Moon

Coach of the Year: Adam Kaufman, Moon



Dahmir Bishop, Imhotep Charter, 6-5 sr, 12.1 ppg

Tariq Ingraham, Bonner-Prendergast, 6-8 sr, 11.4 ppg

Jordan Longino, Germantown Academy, 6-5 so, 23.0 ppg

Justin Paz, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-3 sr, 20.2 ppg

Donta Scott, Imhotep Charter, 6-7 sr, 16.5 ppg

Isaiah Wong, Bonner-Prendergast, 6-3 sr, 21.9 ppg


Shane Cohen, Lower Moreland, 5-7 sr, 17.0 ppg

Logan Collins, Littlestown, 6-4 sr, 22.0 ppg

Jake Kelly, Harrisburg Bishop McDevitt, 6-3 jr, 15.2 ppg

Chereef Knox, Imhotep Charter, 6-6 sr, 11.1 ppg

Nate Kreitzer, Nanticoke, 5-9 sr, 18.8 ppg

Leo O’Boyle, Scranton Prep, 6-8 sr, 17.5 ppg

Donald Whitehead, Hickory, 5-9 jr, 20.6 ppg


Danny Conlan, Quaker Valley, 6-5 sr, 16.7 ppg

Luke House, Archbishop Carroll, 6-4 sr, 13.7 ppg

Shane Kozick, Danville, 6-1 sr, 13.0 ppg

Chad Kratzer, Allentown Central Catholic, 6-1 sr, 21.2 ppg

Xavier Mayo, Hill School, 6-8 sr, 10.0 ppg

Nick Rigby, Huntingdon, 6-3 sr, 23.3 ppg

Ryan Stowers, Quaker Valley, 6-5 sr, 22.0 ppg

Kyle Young, Bethlehem Catholic, 6-9 sr, 13.9 ppg

Player of the Year: Donta Scott, Imhotep Charter

Coach of the Year: Seth Baron, Lower Moreland



John Bol Ajak, Westtown, 6-10 sr, 10.0 ppg

Jalen Gaffney, Westtown, 6-2 sr, 21.0 ppg

Keeno Holmes, Lincoln Park, 6-3 sr, 17.1 ppg

Christian Ings, Neumann-Goretti, 6-2 sr, 19.0 ppg

Jamil Manigo, Wyncote Bishop McDevitt, 6-5 jr, 18.3 ppg

Chance Westry, Camp Hill Trinity, 6-3 fr, 15.1 ppg


Noah Collier, Westtown, 6-8 jr, 14.0 ppg

Rene Figueroa, Panther Valley, 5-7 sr, 24.4 ppg

Dimitri Gnall, Wyoming Seminary, 6-3 sr, 17.5 ppg

Collin Instone, Richland, 6-3 sr, 18.6 ppg

Ethan Porterfield, Sharon, 6-8 sr, 21.0 ppg

Gerald Ross, Loyalsock, 6-2 sr, 18.2 ppg

Isaiah Smith, Lincoln Park, 6-0 jr, 13.5 ppg


Adam Cecere, Forest Hills, 6-4 sr, 17.8 ppg

Isaac DeGregorio, Pittsburgh North Catholic, 5-11 jr, 21.0 ppg

Marlin “M.J.” Devonshire, Aliquippa, 6-0 sr, 16.8 ppg

Lorencz Jean-Baptiste, Kutztown, 6-3 sr, 21.3 ppg

Marrek Paola, Ligonier Valley, 6-5 sr, 18.0 ppg

Robert Smith, Wyncote Bishop McDevitt, 6-0 jr, 14.2 ppg

Ray Somerville, Shipley School, 6-9 sr, 12.0 ppg

Brandyn Tuttle, Wellsboro, 6-4 sr, 18.3 ppg

Player of the Year: Jalen Gaffney, Westtown

Coach of the Year: Will Chavis, Wyncote Bishop McDevitt



Owen Chambers, Coudersport, 6-3 sr, 30.7 ppg

Keshaun Hammonds, Constitution, 6-0 jr, 20.3 ppg

Jordan Holmqvist, Moravian Academy, 6-2 sr, 20.2 ppg

Luke Ruggery, Bishop Guilfoyle, 5-11 sr, 20.0 ppg

Isiah Warfield, Sewickley Academy, 6-5 jr, 25.5 ppg

Jihad Watson, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-1 sr, 13.7 ppg


Daren DiMichele, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, 6-1 sr, 17.0 ppg

Tyler Fritz, Marian Catholic, 6-3 jr, 20.2 ppg

Isaac Marshall, Academy of the New Church, 6-3 jr, 17.0 ppg

Jabari Merritt, Constitution, 6-4 sr, 14.3 ppg

Jimmy Moon, Serra Catholic, 6-9 sr, 27.0 ppg

Jackson Piotrowski, Delco Christian, 6-6 jr, 15.2 ppg

Nisine Poplar, Math, Civics & Sciences, 6-2 so, 14.5 ppg

Jordan Poznanski, Conemaugh Twp, 5-10 sr, 25.2 ppg


Malik Ramsey, California, 6-4 jr, 25.2 ppg

Dante Spadafora, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, 5-11 so, 13.2 ppg

Austin Wigley, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, 6-2 sr, 12.5 ppg

Jessiah Witherspoon, Bishop Guilfoyle, 5-10 jr, 15.5 ppg

Kyi Wright, Farrell, 6-3 sr, 17.0 ppg

Andy Zuchelli, North Star, 6-1 jr, 19.4 ppg

Player of the Year: Jihad Watson, Math, Civics & Sciences

Coach of the Year: Lonnie Diggs, Math, Civics & Sciences



Brady Fyfe, Shade, 6-3 sr, 21.1 ppg

Angelo Reeves, Vincentian Academy, 6-5 so, 14.5 ppg

Thomas Schultz, Lourdes Regional, 6-6 sr, 21.9 ppg

Scott Spann, Sankofa Freedom, 6-1 sr, 18.0 ppg

Khalil Turner, Sankofa Freedom, 6-7 sr, 11.0 ppg

Derrius Ward, Sankofa Freedom, 6-4 jr, 16.0 ppg


Cameron Collins, Juniata Valley, 5-9 sr, 23.3 ppg

Kaden DiVito, Cornell, 5-11 jr, 26.3 ppg

Troy Emert, Rockwood, 5-9 sr, 25.9 ppg

Walt Hester, Paul Robeson, 5-11 sr, 27.0 ppg

David Hill, St. John Neumann, 5-10 so, 20.0 ppg

Tristan McDannell, Bishop Carroll, 5-10 jr, 19.1 ppg

Dawson Snyder, Shanksville-Stonycreek, 6-2 sr, 21.0 ppg


Nathan Blasick, Halifax, 6-3 jr, 19.7 ppg

Ty Klembara, Lourdes Regional, 5-11 sr, 14.8 ppg

Matt Marchetti, MMI Prep, 6-3 sr, 18.3 ppg

Justin Miknis, DuBois Central Catholic, 6-0 sr, 21.3 ppg

Will Taylor, Nazareth Prep, 6-1 jr, 19.1 ppg

Devin Whitlock, Monessen, 5-7 fr, 16.7 ppg

Andrew Williams, Lancaster Country Day, 5-11 sr, 15.0 ppg

Player of the Year: Derrius Ward, Sankofa Freedom

Coach of the Year: Isaiah Thomas, Sankofa Freedom

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at or via Twitter .

More Basketball

If PIAA shuts down, AAU teams, other private programs could flourish
Central Catholic basketball transfer Langston Moses eligible for regular season, WPIAL says
With allegations behind him, Nick Lackovich returns as Aliquippa boys basketball coach
2 WPIAL rising sophomores add basketball offers from Minnesota
2 WPIAL sophomores announce basketball offers from Marshall

click me