Shenango, Rochester top all-conference selections for Big 7 football team

Friday, December 4, 2020 | 5:50 PM

Shenango and Rochester tied atop the Big Seven standings and had five players apiece earn first-team all-conference honors in the WPIAL Class A conference.

Shenango’s Reis Watkins was named the top offensive player and Rochester’s Sal Laure received the defensive award in a vote of conference coaches. Union’s Aaron Gunn earned first-team honors on both sides of the football and was named the conference’s top lineman.

Rochester’s Gene Matsook was voted the top coach.

Watkins was recognized on both sides of the ball, giving the Wildcats six first-team spots in total.


Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Dan Farrell, OLSH, OL, 5-10, 195, sr.

Aaron Gunn, Union, OL, 6-3, 308, sr.

Ryan Zawislak, Rochester, OL, 6-0, 210, sr.

Jason Domenick, Shenango, OL, 5-11, 209, jr.

Jonathan Baronick, Burgettstown, OL, 5-11, 270, sr.

Ryan Lenhart, Shenango, TE, 6-4, 209, sr.

Anthony Nealy, Union, WR, 5-10, 166, sr.

Timothy Henderson, Cornell, WR, 5-10, 173, jr.

Anthony D’Alessandro, Fort Cherry, WR, 6-2, 215, jr.

Jay Pearson, OLSH, RB, 5-11, 190, jr.

Reis Watkins, Shenango, RB, 6-3, 220, sr.

Rashawn Reid, Rochester, RB, 6-0, 170, sr.

Tyler Staub, Union, QB, 5-11, 167, jr.

Aidan Johnston, Shenango, K, 6-0, 178, sr.


Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Aaron Gunn, Union, DL, 6-3, 308, sr.

Jonathan Baronick, Burgettstown, DL, 5-11, 270, sr.

Dayron Burney, Rochester, DL, 6-0, 295, sr.

Trever Valenti, Shenango, DL, 6-1, 250, jr.

Reis Watkins, Shenango, LB, 6-3, 220, sr.

Sal Laure, Rochester, LB, 5-10, 170, jr.

Jackson Clark, Union, LB, 5-10, 185, jr.

Shane Kemper, Burgettstown, LB, 6-1, 180, sr.

Jerome Mullins, Rochester, DB, 6-2, 175, so.

Timothy Henderson, Cornell, DB, 5-10, 173, jr.

Cole Shergi, Burgettstown, DB, 5-10, 185, sr.

Bobby Brazell, OLSH, DB, 5-9, 170, sr.

Anthony Nealy, Union, DB, 5-10, 166, sr.

Delvin Mitchell, Northgate, P, 6-2, 175, jr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Reis Watkins, Shenango

Defensive Player of the Year: Sal Laure, Rochester

Lineman of the Year: Aaron Gunn, Union

Coach of the Year: Gene Matsook, Rochester



Class 6A Conference

Allegheny Six Conference

Big East Conference

Northeast Conference

Big Eight Conference

Greater Allegheny Conference

Parkway Conference

Allegheny Seven Conference

Interstate Conference

Northwestern Six Conference

Allegheny Conference

Century Conference

Midwestern Conference

Three Rivers Conference

Big Seven Conference

Eastern Conference

Tri-County South Conference

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , ,

More High School Football

Latrobe’s Brewer has been a touchdown machine
Westmoreland high school football notebook: Southmoreland opens it up
Trib HSSN high school football rankings: Sept. 19, 2021
Nijhay Burt’s 5 touchdowns lead Steel Valley past Keystone Oaks
High school scores, summaries and schedules for Sept. 17, 2021

click me