WPIAL announces 20 winners of James Collins Scholar-Athlete Award

Wednesday, April 19, 2023 | 11:17 AM

The WPIAL saw an increased number of applicants for the James Collins Scholar-Athlete Award this year, and Wednesday announced 20 winners from the 162 nominees.

The selection committee chose 10 boys and 10 girls. Each receives a $1,000 scholarship.

The boys winners were Trinity’s Ty Banco, Waynesburg’s Michael Church, Aquinas Academy’s Vinnie Cugini, Mt. Lebanon’s Chase Dustevich, North Allegheny’s Harron Lee, Seneca Valley’s Beaux Lizewski, Armstrong’s Cadin Olsen, Avonworth’s Matthew Purcell, Peters Township’s Steven Suchko and Bentworth’s Landon Urcho.

The girls winners were Freeport’s Cassidy Dell, Mt. Lebanon’s Deirdre Flaherty, Mars’ Gwen Howell, Quaker Valley’s Nora Johns, Mapletown’s Ella Menear, Neshannock’s Aaralyn Nogay, North Allegheny’s Christina Shi, West Greene’s London Whipkey, Trinity’s Eden Williamson and Carmichaels’ Sophia Zalar.

This was the 32nd year for the program. The 162 applicants were 20 more than last school year and the most since 2002, according to the WPIAL.

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at charlan@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

More Football

McKeesport’s Jahmil Perryman scores twice as Pennsylvania wins Big 33 Football Classic
Norwin notebook: New football coach fills out staff
Central Catholic linebacker Cole Sullivan commits to Michigan
Bob Palko among 5 football coaches chosen for PSFCA Hall of Fame
College coaches sing praises of Penn Hills junior lineman Kelsey Hundley