2019 Powerade wrestling field to feature Texas team

Thursday, June 6, 2019 | 1:41 PM

There will be some new faces in the 2019 Powerade Holiday Wrestling tournament this season, including one from Texas.

The field of 51 was announced by tournament director Frank Vulcano Jr. on Thursday.

The annual tournament will be held Dec. 27-28 at Canon-McMillan High School.

There are 12 new teams in the field, including Ellwood City, Elizabeth Forward, Mt. Pleasant, Peters Township and South Park from the WPIAL and Class AA power Forest Hills from District 6.

The new out-of-state teams are Arlington Martin (Texas), Oscar Smith (Virginia), Riverheads (Virginia), St. Clairsville (Ohio), Turner Ashby (Virginia) and Wadsworth (Ohio).

Teams not returning include Belle Vernon, Benton, McGuffey, Oak Park-River Forest (Ill.), Palisades, Pottsville, Penfield (N.Y.), Penn-Trafford, Pine-Richland, Shaler, St. Albans (W.Va.,), St. Joseph’s Catholic Academy and Saint Edwards (Ohio).

The other WPIAL teams in the tournament are Burrell, Canon-McMillan, Connellsville, Derry, Franklin Regional, Freedom, Hampton, Hempfield, Kiski Area, Latrobe, Mt. Lebanon, North Hills, Norwin, Quaker Valley, Seneca Valley, Trinity, Thomas Jefferson, Waynesburg and West Allegheny.

The star-studded tournament includes seven returning Powerade Champions and 17 state champions, including four from the WPIAL — Mt. Pleasant freshman Dayton Pitzer, Canon-McMillan junior Gerrit Nijenhuis, Seneca Valley sophomore Alejandro Herrera-Rondon and Franklin Regional sophomore Carter Dibert.

Paul Schofield is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Paul by email at pschofield@tribweb.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

More High School Sports

2019-20 Trib Cup: Victory Bell rings loud as North Catholic runs away with title in Class 3A
Latrobe rallies for ninth straight victory in Westmoreland County baseball summer league
Hempfield state wrestling champ Ethan Berginc commits to Army
Yale’s Zane Dudek, other WPIAL grads react to Ivy League canceling fall sports
So far, so good as Westmoreland County summer baseball league hits season’s midpoint

click me