Countdown to kickoff: More than 2 dozen new coaches prowling WPIAL sidelines

Tuesday, August 22, 2023 | 10:10 PM

They are new faces in new places supplying new hopes and golden dreams.

Some are rookie head coaches replacing experienced coaches while other veteran coaches are starting over at new venues.

Some schools have a new football coach for the first time in decades while others continue to play roulette with their head coaching position.

This offseason was not as busy as the year before, but 26 new head football coaches were hired between the WPIAL and City League.

Here is a rundown of the new coaches and who they replaced.

Baldwin: Dana Brown replaced Tim Sweeney

Bentworth: David Pordash replaces John Knabb

Bethel Park: Phil Peckich replaces Brian DeLallo

Blackhawk: Patrick Feeley replaces Zack Hayward

Brentwood: Nick Caponi replaces Kevin Kissel

Burgettstown: Mark Druga replaces Greg Marshall

Carlynton: John Tortorea replaces Rich Piccinini

Carmichaels: Ryan Krull replaces Ron Gallagher

Carrick: Dennis Wolford replaces Greg Johnston

Central Catholic: Ryan Lehmeier replaces Terry Totten

Charleroi: Tyler Aeschbacher replaces Marc Gambino

Elizabeth Forward: John DeMarco replaces Mike Collodi

Fox Chapel: Dave Leasure replaces Tom Loughran

Freedom: Ron Balog replaces John Rosa

Greensburg Central Catholic: JT Thompson replaces Marko Thomas

Greensburg Salem: Ty George replaces Dave Keefer

Hempfield: Nick Keefer replaces Mike Brown

Mt. Lebanon: Mike Collodi replaces Bob Palko

North Catholic: Chris Rizzo replaces Pat O’Shea

Norwin: Mike Brown replaces Dave Brozeski

Riverside: Bill Hand replaces Fran Ramsden

South Allegheny: Brian Hanson replaces Darwin Manges

South Park: Brian Abbey replaces Marty Rieck

Valley: Mark Adams replaces Dave Heavner

West Greene: Beau Jackson replaces Brian Hanson

Woodland Hills: Brian Tarrant replaces Tim Bostard

More High School Football

City League mourns death of longtime Allderdice football coach Jerry Haslett
2024 Trib HSSN Preseason Football All-Star Team: West Mifflin’s Armand Hill
Hempfield QB Dom Detruf sidelined with heart condition, vows to return this season
2024 Trib HSSN Preseason Football All-Star Team: Central Valley’s Brendan Alexander
2024 Trib HSSN Preseason Football All-Star Team: McKeesport’s Kemon Spell