Defending champ Connor Bruce among qualifiers for WPIAL singles tournament

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 | 11:15 PM

The WPIAL boys tennis singles tournament could see a repeat winner in Class AAA and is guaranteed a new champion in Class AA.

Peters Township sophomore Connor Bruce, the defending WPIAL Class AAA champion, claimed the Section 4-AAA championship Tuesday at Peters Township, beating teammate Ethan Muza in straight sets in the final.

Bruce beat Fox Chapel's Robby Shymansky in a three-set thriller at last season's WPIAL singles tournament. Shymansky also will return to the WPIAL tournament as the Section 3-AAA champion after beating Allderdice's Marcus Mitchell in straight sets in the final. Penn-Trafford's Turner Price claimed the Section 1-AAA championship, while Moon's Logan D'Angelo took the Section 2-AAA title.

Class AA will see a new champion after Sewickley Academy's Luke Ross — who won WPIAL and PIAA titles last season — graduated. The section champions in Class AA included Thomas Jefferson's Yash Maheshwari (1-AA), Blackhawk's Drew Rodenbeck (2-AA), Indiana's Zachary Palko (3-AA) and Sewickley Academy's Arjan Bedi (4-AA).

The top four finishers from each section tournament advanced to the WPIAL championships, which take place Thursday and Friday.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

click me