Driscoll scholar/athlete award nominees announced

Tuesday, March 26, 2019 | 8:12 PM

The Westmoreland County Judge John J. Driscoll scholar/athlete committee, made up of athletic directors from the 18 county high schools, met Tuesday to decide who would win the 2019 Excellence Award at the April 30 banquet.

Twelve finalists were selected, and athletic directors then voted on the winners. They will be announced at the 63rd Annual Westmoreland County Scholar/Athlete Banquet at Ferrante’s Lakeview in Hempfield.

Last year’s winners were Belle Vernon softball pitcher Bailey Parshall and Ligonier Valley wrestler Robby Patrick. Parshall is one of the top pitchers at Penn State, and Patrick competed at Virginia.

Nominees were judged on academics and athletics.

The Ferrante Award winner is former Greensburg Salem volleyball coach and athletic director Lynn Jobe. She is the first female to receive the honor for dedication to promoting high school athletics.

Heather Lyke, Pitt’s athletic director, will be the guest speaker.

Nominees from the county schools are:

Belle Vernon: Lindsay Steeber (basketball) and Anthony Bertram (football).

Burrell: Andrew Bigler (football, basketball, rugby) and Lauren Brown (track and cross country).

Derry: Lauren Enos (volleyball) and Dom DeLuca (football, wrestler, volleyball).

Franklin Regional: Tiffany Jolayemi (soccer, track and field) and Palmer Jackson (golf, baseball).

Greensburg Central Catholic: Gabrielle Skatell (basketball, soccer, softball) and Luke Mort (soccer).

Greensburg Salem: William Crates (swimming, soccer) and Jack Oberdorf (golf, basketball, baseball).

Hempfield: Jessica Persin (softball, basketball, soccer) and Gavin Mayo (swimming, cross country, track and field).

Jeannette: Zoe Manolis (cheerleading, tennis) and Anthony Sharp (basketball).

Kiski Area: Keaghan Schafer (gymnastics) and Brenden Brzozowski (swimming).

Latrobe: Reed Fenton (basketball and volleyball) and Carly Augustine (volleyball).

Ligonier Valley: Mia Lynn (soccer, basketball, softball) and John Caldwell (football, baseball).

Monessen: Soleil Simpson (softball, cheerleading) and Madison Telegraphis (softball, basketball, soccer, cheerleading).

Mt. Pleasant: Sam Napper (soccer, golf, tennis, basketball) and Kayla Moninger (soccer, track and field).

Norwin: Jessica Kolesar (track and field, basketball, field hockey) and Rachel Langsdorf (volleyball).

Penn-Trafford: Nick Coy (wrestling) and Paige Kalik (diving).

Southmoreland: Travis Sipple (golf, baseball, hockey) and Maggie Moore (basketball).

Valley: Brandon Fiedor (track and field) and Elizabeth Schachte (cheerleading).

Yough: Lindsey McClaren (soccer) and Jarret Bach (basketball, baseball).

Paul Schofield is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Paul by email at pschofield@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

More High School Other

Norwin recognizes latest Hall of Fame classes
Shady Side Academy rower wins youth national title
WPIAL adds board of directors seat exclusively for private schools
Miller, Meister headline North Allegheny Hall of Fame class
Soccer, golf success guides Greensburg Central Catholic to Class A Trib Cup title

click me