Fox Chapel’s Meyer looks to defend WPIAL Class AAA golf title

Sunday, October 1, 2017 | 3:06 PM

WPIAL Class AAA boys golf championship

9 a.m. Tuesday, Nemacolin Country Club, Bealsville

Scouting the field: The final will be contested over 18 holes. … The field consists of the top 18 players from each of two semifinal tournaments. … Gregor Meyer of Fox Chapel returns to defend his title. He shot an impressive, 1-under-par 71 last year as a sophomore to win at Oakmont Country Club. … The last repeat champion in the highest classification was Mike Van Sickle of Pine-Richland in 2003 and ‘04. … Central Catholic junior Jimmy Meyers returns after tying for second last year. Other returning top-10 finishers at Oakmont include Shaler senior Tanner Grzegorczyk, Peters Township senior Hunter Bruce, who won the WPIAL title in 2015, Seneca Valley senior Adam Bushee, Franklin Regional junior Palmer Jackson and Latrobe junior Brady Pevarnik. Jackson is the one to watch. He is 17-under for the season, including 8-under in the postseason. … Jackson and Pevarnik tied for 10th last year. Pevarnik is a Kent State recruit. … Grzegorczyk shot 3-under 69 in the semifinals, lighting up the back nine with five birdies and an eagle to shoot 6-under 31. He had two goals in a soccer game the next day. … Central Catholic senior Neal Shipley was the medalist at the semifinal at The Links at Spring Church with a 1-under 69. … Senior Adam Cippel is Armstrong's first finals qualifier. … Junior Cade Patterson is looking to become Penn-Trafford's first WPIAL golf champion.

Who advances? The top 14 finishers advance to the PIAA Western Regional tournament Oct. 16 at Tom's Run Golf Course at Chestnut Ridge Resort, Blairsville. At the regional, the top 12 qualify for the PIAA championship Oct. 23-24 at Heritage Hills Resort, York.

Groupings to watch: The best might go out last as the 10:28 a.m. threesome features Bruce, Grzegorczyk and Jackson, who were a combined 8-under in the semifinals. Pevarnik, Pine-Richland's Jack Wymard and West Allegheny's Neal Shipley play at 10:20.

Past champions: 2016 Gregor Meyer, Fox Chapel; 2015 Hunter Bruce, Peters Township; 2014 Anthony Cordaro, Fox Chapel; 2013 Corey Long, South Fayette; 2012 Brent Rodgers, Central Catholic; 2011 Zack Taylor, Baldwin; 2010 Bo Lustig, Belle Vernon; 2009 Ben Gjebre, Latrobe; 2008 Adam Stawski, Plum; 2007 Brock Pompeani, Hopewell; 2006 Adam Hofmann, Fox Chapel; 2005 Christian Goetz, Burgettstown; 2004 Mike Van Sickle, Pine-Richland; 2003 Mike Van Sickle, Pine-Richland; 2002 Tim Moynihan, Franklin Regional; 2001 David Vallina, Burgettstown; 2000 David Valllina, Burgettstown; 1999 Scott Chisholm, North Hills; 1998 Nate Speer, Burrell; 1997 Tom Barnhart, Laurel Highlands; 1996 Andy Latowski, Baldwin; 1995 Russ Manski, Central Catholic; 1994 Andy Hay, North Catholic; 1993 Brian Tutich, Greensburg Central Catholic; 1992 Jeff Dickson, Knoch; 1991 Jeff Dickson, Knoch; 1990 Jeff Diehl, Butler; 1989 Kevin Shields, Mt. Lebanon; 1988 Perry DiNardo, Trinity; 1987 George Laskey, Geibel; 1986 Kevin Reisenweaver, Latrobe; 1985 Seth Pevarnik, Greensburg Central Catholic; 1984 Tony Brovety, Bentworth; 1983 Paul Balest, Greensburg Salem; 1982 Greg Klabon, Shenango; 1981 Kurt Beck, Upper St. Clair; 1980 Jim Watterson, Upper St. Clair; 1979 Bob Bradley, Hempfield; 1978 Steve Savor, Jr., Springdale; 1977 Ray Nelson, Ligonier; 1976 Frank Fuhrer III, Fox Chapel; 1975 Frank Fuhrer III, Fox Chapel; 1974 Frank Fuhrer III, Fox Chapel; 1973 Scott Arthur, Moon; 1972 Dennis Osborne, Butler; 1971 Mike Phillips, West Allegheny; 1970 Mike Phillips, West Allegheny; 1969 Rich Foutz, Plum; 1968 Harry Hamilton, West Allegheny (fall season); 1968 Jim Simons, Knoch (spring season); 1967 Frank Garella, West Mifflin North; 1966 Sterret Watt, Northwestern; 1965 Rick Hrip, Butler; 1964 Charles Cullison, Baldwin; 1963 Scott Yard, Greensburg; 1962 Jim Lynch, Mt. Lebanon; 1961 Bob O'Block, Plum; 1960 Bob O'Block, Plum; 1959 George Mackanos, Penn Hills; 1958 Fred Maeder, Har-Brack; 1957 Jack Veroncy, Moon; 1956 Wally Samuels, Mt. Lebanon; 1955 Ken O'Gorman, Moon; 1954 Ron Schwarzel, Brentwood; 1953 Ron Schwarzel, Brentwood; 1952 Ron Schwarzel, Brentwood; 1951 Bill Gabel, Ambridge; 1950 Tom Cherok, Penn Hills; 1949 Rich McCarthy, West View; 1948 Bill Thompson, Sharon; 1947 Arnold Palmer, Latrobe; 1946 Arnold Palmer, Latrobe.

— Bill Beckner Jr.

Tags: , ,

More Golf

Franklin Regional’s Tragesser finishes 2nd at PIAA golf championship
WPIAL has numerous place winners, no champions at Class AA state golf tournament
Penn Hills golfer learns lessons on Oakmont’s fabled greens
South Fayette junior golfer stares down Oakmont, takes home silver
Norwin notebook: Trip to WPIAL finals a 1st for Knights golfers

click me