Jeannette to recognize inaugural hall of fame class Friday night

Thursday, February 7, 2019 | 3:30 PM

Some of Jeannette’s all-time greats will be honored Friday night as the school district rolls out its inaugural Jayhawk Athletic Hall of Fame class.

A ceremony will precede Jeannette’s boys basketball section finale against visiting Serra Catholic, immediately following the junior varsity game, around 7 p.m.

The plan initially was to have the ceremony at halftime, but was moved to pregame.

The varsity game tips around 7:30.

There will be an induction banquet at 5 p.m. Saturday at Ferrante’s Lakeview to officially welcome what is a stacked group.

Call them first class.

The hall of famers are: Lisa (Marquis) Abreu (basketball, Class of 1987); Steve August (football, ’72); Adam Bostick (basketball, football, ’79); Sid Bostick (basketball, football, ’74); Gary Gregory (basketball, ’72); Dick Hoak (football, ‘57); Matt Lebe (wrestling, 2001); Joe Mucci (football coach, ’68-85); Lori Pecoraro (track, ’90); Terrelle Pryor (football, basketball, ’08); Dante Wiley (football, ’83); and the 1956 football team.

A “Legends” group of posthumous honorees includes: Bill Baughman (football, ’40); Buster Clarkson (baseball, ’33); Claire Cribbs (basketball, ’30); Mike Getto (football, ’48); Jack O’Brien (football, ’50); and Lou Seiler (trainer, ’47).

One proposed plan would have a display at the entrance lobby to the Jeannette High School gym, possibly in a touch-screen form for quick access to bios, stats, photos and more on inductees. Plans for a display are pending.

Organizers say more than 200 have purchased tickets for Saturday’s dinner.

Bill Beckner is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Bill at [email protected] or via Twitter @BillBeckner.


click me