PIAA 1st-round opponents set for WPIAL baseball qualifiers

Thursday, May 30, 2024 | 12:56 AM

The 2024 WPIAL baseball playoffs are in the books with six champions crowned Tuesday and Wednesday at Wild Things Park in Washington.

Two teams, Seton LaSalle in Class 2A and Bishop Canevin in Class A, repeated as district title winners.

North Allegheny in 6A won for a record ninth time and their first in three years. North Catholic in 4A captured gold for the first time in six years, and Avonworth in 3A won it all for the first time in 32 years.

Finally, Penn-Trafford was crowned a WPIAL baseball champion for the first time.

These six teams and 13 others from the WPIAL now turn their attention to the start of the state playoffs, which begin Monday.

While sites and times will be released in the next few days, here are the qualifiers for the 2024 PIAA baseball postseason.

Class 6A

WPIAL champion North Allegheny vs. District 3 third-place team West Lawn Wilson

WPIAL runner-up Mt. Lebanon vs. District 10 champion McDowell

Class 5A

WPIAL champion Penn-Trafford vs. District 3 fifth-place team Lower Dauphin

WPIAL runner-up Bethel Park vs. District 3 champion Mechanicsburg

WPIAL third-place Franklin Regional vs. District 6 champion Hollidaysburg

Class 4A

WPIAL champion North Catholic vs. District 3 third-place team Fleetwood

WPIAL runner-up Indiana vs. District 6 champion Bellefonte

WPIAL third-place Montour vs. District 10 champion Cathedral Prep

WPIAL fourth-place Thomas Jefferson vs. District 3 champion East Pennsboro

Class 3A

WPIAL champion Avonworth vs. District 6 champion Central Cambria

WPIAL runner-up Riverside vs. District 9 champion Punxsutawney

WPIAL third-place South Allegheny vs. District 6 runner-up Huntingdon

WPIAL fourth-place Burrell vs. District 10 champion Fairview

Class 2A

WPIAL champion Seton LaSalle vs. District 9 runner-up Moniteau

WPIAL runner-up Serra Catholic vs. District 5 champion North Star

WPIAL third-place Burgettstown vs. District 9 champion Redbank Valley

Class A

WPIAL champion Bishop Canevin vs. District 10 runner-up Saegertown

WPIAL runner-up Eden Christian Academy vs. District 5 champion, either Conemaugh Township or Southern Fulton

WPIAL third-place Avella vs. District 10 champion West Middlesex

More Baseball

Hempfield East Legion looking to build on historic season
Young Township seeking return to American Legion league regionals
Monroeville Junior Legion team working toward strong finish to season
‘Courage and grit’ propel Eden Christian to baseball season to remember
Junior Legion players show Plum pride during busy summer of baseball