PIAA champion Aliquippa well-represented on Class 4A all-state list, including player, coach of the year

Friday, December 29, 2023 | 10:00 AM

Aliquippa completed its first undefeated season with a 60-14 victory over Dallas in the PIAA Class 4A championship game earlier this month.

On Friday, the Quips added a cherry to the top of the best season in program history.

Four players were honored by the Pa. Football Writers with selection to the Class 4A all-state team, junior running back Tiqwai “Tikey” Hayes was named co-player of the year, and coach Mike Warfield earned coach of the year recognition. Hayes and Warfield also were tabbed player and coach of the year in 2021.

Hayes shared the co-player of the year honor with last year’s winner, Bishop McDevitt quarterback Stone Saunders, a Kentucky recruit who led the Crusaders to the state semifinals and threw for 3,522 yards and 56 touchdowns.

Hayes (6-1, 195), who has verbally committed to Penn State, ranks among the top 10 rushers in WPIAL history. This year, he ran for 2,129 yards and 23 touchdowns as Aliquippa won the program’s third straight WPIAL title and second state title in three years. In the PIAA title game against Dallas, he gained 222 yards and scored three touchdowns.

Warfield improved to 74-6 in his sixth year leading the Quips, who play in Class 4A via the PIAA’s competitive balance rule despite having a Class A enrollment. Aliquippa has played in four straight WPIAL championship games and reached three straight state finals.

Fellow Quips picked to the all-state team were senior quarterback Quentin Goode, senior linebacker Cam Lindsey and junior defensive back Arison Walker.

Lindsey (6-2, 210), a Pitt recruit, is a three-time all-state pick who had 118 tackles, including 13 tackles for loss, two fumble recoveries, one interception and two defensive TDs. He scored nine times on offense. Lindsey was co-defensive MVP in the Parkway Conference.

Goode (5-9, 182) became the all-time leading passer in Aliquippa history with 5,826 yards. This season, he completed 109 of 185 passes for 1,964 yards and 26 touchdowns. He was the offensive MVP in the Parkway Conference.

Walker (5-9, 171) led the Quips secondary with seven interceptions and 55 tackles. He also was the team’s leading receiver with 24 catches for 299 yards.

Montour senior quarterback Jake Wolfe, Latrobe junior linebacker Alex Tatsch and McKeesport senior offensive lineman Courtney Dunn Jr. were also selected to the all-state team.

Wolfe (6-2, 195) passed for 2,662 yards and 31 touchdowns and rushed for 861 yards and 14 scores as Montour reached the WPIAL semifinals.

Tatsch (6-3, 210) is a sought-after college prospect with numerous Power Five offers. He led Latrobe with 79 tackles, along with four sacks and four interceptions. He also rushed for 374 yards and scored nine touchdowns.

Dunn (6-3, 260), a Cal (Pa.) commit, was named the Bill Fralic Memorial Award winner as the WPIAL’s top senior interior lineman. He had 27 pancake blocks on offense and 51 solo tackles and five sacks on defense. McKeesport, which finished as the WPIAL runner-up, averaged 335 yards per game, 272 rushing.

The all-state team was chosen by a statewide vote of sportswriters. The Class A, 2A and 3A teams were released Thursday. Class 4A, 5A and 6A were revealed Friday.

2023 Pa. Football Writers’ Class 4A all-state team

Co-Players of the Year: Tiqwai Hayes, Aliquippa; Stone Saunders, Bishop McDevitt

Coach of the Year: Mike Warfield, Aliquippa



Quentin Goode, Aliquippa – 5-9, 182 senior

Stone Saunders, Bishop McDevitt – 6-2, 215 junior

Zac Hahn, Manheim Central – 6-0, 190 senior

Jake Wolfe, Montour – 6-1, 185 senior

Running back

Tiqwai “Tikey” Hayes, Aliquippa – 6-0, 197 junior

Tucker Teats, Selinsgrove – 5-10, 194 senior

Aaron Crossley, Wyoming Area – 5-11, 210 senior

Jake Williams, ELCO – 5-11, 180 senior

Boyd Skarbek, Pope John Paul II – 5-11, 195 senior

Wide receiver

Aaron Enterline, Manheim Central – 6-3, 180 senior

Lex Cyrus, Susquehanna Township – 5-10, 165 junior

Zach Paczewski, Dallas – 5-8, 175 senior

Braden Reed, Pope John Paul II – 5-10, 165 junior

Rico Scott, Bishop McDevitt – 6-1, 190 senior

Tight end

Ean Winchester, Twin Valley – 6-2, 265 senior

Offensive line

Kevin Heywood, Pope John Paul II – 6-8, 305 senior

Paul McClune, Twin Valley – 6-4, 295 senior

Collin Melhorn, Selinsgrove – 6-3, 307 senior

Courtney Dunn, McKeesport – 6-3, 260 senior

Dyson Delaney, Jersey Shore – 6-3, 290 senior


Elijah Jordan, Jersey Shore – 5-8, 180 junior

Zack Fox, Nanticoke Area – 5-8, 185 senior

Brycen Armold, Manheim Central – 5-8, 185 senior


Defensive line

TJ Boccella, Pope John Paul II – 6-1, 210 senior

Jaidyn Johnson, Nanticoke Area – 6-3, 220 senior

Zach Mell, Big Spring – 6-3, 225 senior

Blake Hockenbroch, Shamokin Area – 6-2, 230 junior


Cam Lindsey, Aliquippa – 6-2, 210 senior

Bo Sechrist, Jersey Shore – 5-10, 182 sophomore

Ethan Miller, Selinsgrove – 5-10, 175 junior

Alex Tatsch, Latrobe – 6-3, 210 junior

Gianni Marino, Valley View – 6-2, 210 junior

Defensive back

Arison Walker, Aliquippa – 5-9, 171 junior

Caleb Hicks, Selinsgrove – 6-1, 185 senior

Chase Pensyl, Shamokin Area – 5-8, 150 junior

Bode Sipel, Manheim Central – 5-11, 185 senior


Brady Mapes, North Pocono – 5-6, 150 senior

Rowan Laubach, Dallas – 5-7, 160 junior


Chase Regan, Bishop McDevitt – 6-0, 185 senior

Jasper Shepps, Juniata – 6-1, 170 sophomore

Keith Oates III, East Pennsboro – 6-0, 205 senior

Bill Hartlep is the TribLive sports editor. A Pittsburgh native and Point Park graduate, he joined the Trib in 2004, covering high school sports. He held various editing roles before assuming his current position in 2019. He can be reached at bhartlep@triblive.com.

Tags: , , ,

More High School Football

WPIAL chooses new board president for 2024-25 school year
Belle Vernon seniors celebrate back-to-back WPIAL, PIAA football titles
Southmoreland’s Da’sjon Craggette helps West team to victory at PSFCA East-West all-star game
Moon wins 2nd girls flag football title in a row over North Allegheny
Beaver County judge to decide if Aliquippa football moves to Class 5A or stays in 4A