PIAA Wrestling: Class 2-A Day Two Results

By: HSSN Staff
Friday, March 10, 2017 | 11:33 PM

The WPIAL entered the state championships in AA with two wrestlers being undefeated. After wrestling Friday those wrestlers remained unbeaten and will wrestle for a state championship.

Gavin Teasdale of Jefferson Morgan is the first. He will look for his 40th win of the season and third state championship after beating Kollin Myers of Springdale by technical fall, 20-5 in 3:51. Teasdale will wrestle Austin Clabaugh of Bermudian Springs in the final.

The other undefeated wrestler for the WPIAL is Dominic Fundy of Beth Center, who is also looking for his 40th win of the season in the finals. He defeated Julian Gorring of Fort LeBoeuf 3-2 in the semi-finals to remain unbeaten. Fundy will be looking for his first state title against Cody Mulligan of Saegertown.

The WPIAL has one additional wrestler in the state finals, and that is Tyler Griffiths of Southmoreland. After a third place finish in the Southwest Region two weeks ago, Griffiths was able to turn things around by beating Gabe Miller of Pequea Valley 12-9 to advance to the title match. In the finals, Griffiths will meet returning state champion Brian Courtney of Athens.

The WPIAL will bring back 12 total state medals out of a possible 34. Of the 12, only one team has multiple wrestlers that will receive hardware. That school is Freedom, who will see Kody Komara (145) and Evan Sweesy (285) both wrestle for 3rd place in their respective weight classes.

The medal round matches in AA will begin Saturday at 2:00 PM. All the matches can be heard here on the MSA Sports Network.

Semi-Final Results:

Beau Bayless (Reynolds) dec. Kaden Cassidy (Bishop McCort) 4-1
Josh Boozel (Mount Union) dec. Nate Smith (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) 2-1

Jaret Lane (Southern Columbia) maj. dec. Isaac Crowell (Fort LeBoeuf) 10-2
Chase Shields (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) dec. Wyatt Lutz (Montoursville) 3-2 OT UTB

Gavin Park (Brookville) dec. Colin Pasone (EL Meyers) 10-9
Cole Rhone (Benton) dec. Josh Jones (Saucon Valley) 7-3

Gavin Teasdale (Jefferson Morgan) tech. fall Kollin Myers (Boling Springs) 20-5, 3:51
Austin Clabaugh (Bermudian Springs) dec. John Rocco Kazalas (Quaker Valley) 5-0

Brian Courtney (Athens) dec. Carnell Andrews (Bishop McCort) 5-3
Tyler Griffiths (Southmoreland) dec. Gabe Miller (Pequea Valley) 12-9

Max Murin (Central Cambria) fall Michael Doerflinger (Slippery Rock) 0:21
Cole Matthews (Reynolds) fall Sammy Hepler (Tri-Valley) 0:37

John Pipa (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) dec. Dallas Bulsak (South Park) 6-0
Justin McCoy (Chestnut Ridge) dec. Todd Lane (Southern Columbia) 3-1

Edmond Ruth (Susquehanna Township) maj. dec. Kaidon Winters (Athens) 8-0
Robby Patrick (Ligonier Valley) tech. fall Chase Anklam (Pen Argyl) 16-1, 3:38

Creighton Edsell (Wyalusing) dec. Larry Brown (Moshannon Valley) 4-2
Ryan Farber (Northern Lehigh) dec. Gavin Wilkerson (Reynolds) 6-5

Jacob Oliver (Huntingdon) dec. Gaige Garcia (Southern Columbia) 3-2
Dalton Group (Susquenita) dec. Joel Leise (Reynolds) 10-3

Dominic Fundy (Beth Center) dec. Julian Gorring (Fort LeBoeuf) 3-2
Cody Mulligan (Saegertown) maj. dec. Dominic DeLuca (Derry) 11-0

Gavin Hoffman (Montoursville) tech. fall Xavier Molnar (Brookville) 22-6, 5:12
Anthony Walters (Bishop McCort) dec. Clay Verbanac (Cambridge Springs) 4-0

Cole Nye (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) maj. dec. Bishop McCoy (South Side) 13-5
Josiah Jones (Bishop McCort) dec. Blake Reynolds (Greenville) 7-4

Dan Scheib (Tri-Valley) dec. Cole Rickert (Reynolds) 7-3
Toby Cahill (Berlin Brothers Valley) dec. Garrett Kieffer (Line Mountain) 10-4


Medal Round Matchups:

1st – Beau Bayless (Reynolds) vs. Josh Boozel (Mount Union)
3rd – Elijah Bundro (Wilson Area) vs. Kaden Cassidy (Bishop McCort)
5th – Nate Smith (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) vs. Anthony Glasl (Brockway)
7th – Baylor Shunk (Penn Valley) vs. Jacob Blair (Muncy)

1st – Jaret Lane (Southern Columbia) vs. Chase Shields (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg)
3rd – Wyatt Lutz (Montoursville) vs. Tyger Evans (Susquehanna Township)
5th – Richie Markulics (Notre Dame G.P.) vs. Isaac Crowell (Fort LeBoeuf)
7th – Derrick Christie (Westmont-Hilltop) vs. Keelan Kunselman (Brookville)

1st – Gavin Park (Brookville) vs. Cole Rhone (Benton)
3rd – Cole Hauck (Line Mountain) vs. Bronson Garber (Upper Dauphin)
5th – Josh Jones (Saucon Valley) vs. Colin Pasone (E.L. Meyers)
7th – Ryan McGuire (Notre Dame GP) vs. Andrew Ishco (Reynolds)

1st – Gavin Teasdale (Jefferson Morgan) vs. Austin Clabaugh (Bermudian Springs)
3rd – Gage Bayless (Reynolds) vs. Brian Earlston (Line Mountain)
5th – John Rocco Kazalas (Quaker Valley) vs. Kollin Myers (Boiling Springs)
7th – Tanner Ball (Peqquea Valley) vs. Jeremy Hanford (Warrior Run)

1st – Brian Courtney (Athens) vs. Tyler Griffiths (Southmoreland)
3rd – Gabe Miller (Pequea Valley) vs. Caleb Dowling (Saint Joseph’s)
5th – Tanner McHugh (Tamaqua) vs. Carnell Andrews (Bishop McCort)
7th – Tyler Alberts (Ellwood City) vs. Bodee Tolbert (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg)

1st – Max Murin (Central Cambria) vs. Cole Matthews (Reynolds)
3rd – Sammy Hepler (Tri-Valley) vs. Thayne Lawrence (Frazier)
5th – Alex Caldwell (Ligonier Valley) vs. Michael Doerflinger (Slippery Rock)
7th – Logan McClain (Ridgway) vs. Brett Uhrin (Valley View)

1st – John Pipa (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) vs. Justin McCoy (Chestnut Ridge)
3rd – Kody Komara (Freedom) vs. Nathan Haubert (Palisades)
5th – Todd Lane (Southern Columbia) vs. Dallas Bulsak (South Park)
7th – John Mott (Commodore Perry) vs. Chaise Hauck (Reynolds)

1st – Edmond Ruth (Susquehanna Township) vs. Robby Patrick (Ligonier Valley)
3rd – Brock Biddle (Central Martinsburg) vs. Caleb Clymer (Northwestern)
5th – Chase Anklam (Pen Argyl) vs. Kaidon Winters (Athens)
7th – Calek Hetrick (Brookville) vs. Derek Yingling (West Branch)

1st – Creighton Edsell (Wyalusing) vs. Ryan Farber (Northern Lehigh)
3rd – Gavin Wilkerson (Reynolds) vs. Seth Baney (Huntingdon)
5th – Kyle Bennett (Montoursville) vs. Larry Brown (Moshannon Valley)
7th – Jacob Carpenter (Shamokin) vs. Brian Shermeyer (Delone Catholic)

1st – Jacob Oliver (Huntingdon) vs. Dalton Group (Susquenita)
3rd – Joel Leise (Reynolds) vs. Jared McGill (Chestnut Ridge)
5th – Matt Lewandowski (Mahanoy) vs. Gaige Garcia (Southern Columbia)
7th – Nick McClimans (Sharon) vs. Carl Harris (Littlestown)

1st – Dominic Fundy (Beth Center) vs. Cody Mulligan (Saegertown)
3rd – Dominic DeLuca (Derry) vs. Julian Gorring (Fort LeBoeuf)
5th – Devin Evans (Susquehanna Township) vs. Zachery Zimmerman (Troy)
7th – Christian Hutzell (Meyersdale) vs. Anthony Marra (Burrell)

1st – Gavin Hoffman (Montoursville) vs. Anthony Walters (Bishop McCort)
3rd – Clay Verbanac (Cambridge Springs) vs. Exree Loe (Greater Johnstown)
5th – Jerry Moore (Blairsville) vs. Xavier Molnar (Brookville)
7th – Ivan Balavage (Scranton Prep) vs. Jacob McMaster (Greenville)

1st – Cole Nye (Bishop McDevitt Harrisburg) vs. Josiah Jones (Bishop McCort)
3rd – Max Mason (Jersey Shore) vs. Devin Fontanez (Saucon Valley)
5th – Blake Reynolds (Greenville) vs. Bishop McCoy (South Side)
7th – Jarrett Walters (Danville) vs. Tyler Cook (Brookville)

1st – Dan Scheib (Tri-Valley) vs. Toby Cahill (Berlin-Brothers Valley)
3rd – Evan Sweesy (Freedom) vs. Cole Rickert (Reynolds)
5th – Garrett Kieffer (Line Mountain) vs. Ian Minnich (Williams Valley)
7th – Nick Winfield (Southern Huntongdon) vs. Jeff Kraemer (North East)

click me