High school notebook: WCCA could consider change to invitational

Tuesday, January 9, 2018 | 11:21 PM

Should the Westmoreland County Coaches' Association change its wrestling tournament to an invitational?

Opinions varied at the 65th annual WCCA tournament this past weekend.

Because Jeannette and Greensburg Central Catholic no longer field teams, and Ligonier Valley opted not to compete, only 14 of the 18 county high schools participated.

And because not every team fields a complete 14-man lineup, some of the weight class brackets were not filled.

There were only seven heavyweights in this year's tournament.

WCCA president Larry Seillito said if the wrestling committee wants to make changes the members must propose it at a meeting for the board to vote on.

Those changes were discussed by the coaches at the tournament, but nothing was determined.

The tournament also has included teams from Connellsville, North Allegheny, Kittanning/Armstrong and Blairsville before.

“We need to do something,” Greensburg Salem coach Randy Parsley said. “We need to get more competition.”

Because only 160 wrestlers participated, Friday's opening two rounds were completed in just two-and-half hours.

But Derry coach Mike Weinell and some board members would like to keep the competition within the county.

“I didn't think the competition was bad at all,” Weinell said. “If we brought outside teams in, it would just make it another tournament. I think the kids like to be called county champions.”

Camacho up next

Franklin Regional junior Colton Camacho put himself in position to become the 13th four-time champion at the WCCA tournament when he defeated Penn-Trafford's Nick Coy.

If Camacho wins in 2019, he'll join Latrobe's Tom Bell (1961-64), Mt. Pleasant's Bill Domasky (183-86), Hempfield's Jim Brasco (1988-1991), Greensburg Salem's Vertus Jones (1992-95), Greensburg Salem's Vince Pellis (1922-95), Greensburg Salem's Greg Jones (1997-2000), Greensburg Salem's Donnie Jones (2002-2005), Franklin Regional's Nico Megaludis (2008-2011), Derry's Travis Shaffer (2008-2011), Kiski Area's Matt McCutcheon (2010-2013), Franklin Regional's Josh Maruca (2012-2015) and Franklin Regional's Josh Shields (2012-15).

100-win club

Southmoreland senior Jaden Datz, who won his first WCCA title Saturday, joined the 100-win club in the semifinals.

Others to reach 100 wins this season are Kiski Area's Darren Miller, Belle Vernon's Brock Godzin, Waynesburg's Kyle Homet, West Mifflin's Gerald Brown and Derry's Shawn Broadway.

This and that

Jefferson-Morgan senior Gavin Teasdale won the Tri-County tournament last weekend but did not get a chance to wrestle Canon-McMillan's Logan Macri, who was held out of the tournament. … Frazier's Thayne Lawrence (15-0) continues to shine. He won the Tri-County tournament and is seeded second at 152 pounds this week at the Escape the Rock tournament at Council Rock South. Ian Edenfield of Laurel Highlands is seeded No. 1 at 220 pounds. … Connellsville went 4-1 at the Central Dauphin Duals. The Falcons were without Nate Ansell, who is sidelined with an injury.

Paul Schofield is a Tribune-Review staff writer. Reach him at pschofield@tribweb.com or via Twitter @Schofield_Trib.

click me