Jefferson-Morgan’s Teasale wins 4th PIAA wrestling championship

Saturday, March 10, 2018 | 3:12 PM

HERSHEY — Gavin Teasdale does nothing but win in Chocolate Town.

The Jefferson-Morgan senior became just the 13th wrestler to win four PIAA individual titles, capturing the Class AA 126-pound championship with a 2-0 win over Saucon Valley's Josh Jones on Saturday afternoon at GIant Center. He matched Rockets legend Cary Kolat, a 1992 J-M graduate, with his fourth title.

Teasdale started two of the three periods on bottom. Each time he escaped, those two points giving him all he needed to end on top of the podium for the fourth consecutive season.

The Penn State recruit became the PIAA's first four-time champion since Kennard Dale's Chance Marsteller and Solanco's Thomas Haines accomplished the feat in 2014. Waynesburg's Jim Conklin (1943), North Allegheny's Ty Moore (1990), Kolat (1992), McGuffey's Jeremy Hunter (1996) and Derry's Jimmy Gulibon (2012) are the four-time PIAA champions who hail from the WPIAL.

Doug Gulasy is a Tribune-Review staff writer.


More High School Wrestling

Mt. Pleasant’s Dayton Pitzer commits to wrestle at Pitt
Derry wrestling coach Mike Weinell resigns
Mt. Lebanon wrestler Mac Stout commits to Pitt
Former Kiski Area coach Chuck Tursky to get Ferrante award
Wrestling notebook: Powerade wrestling tournament will be loaded with talent

click me