Jeannette announces second Jayhawk Athletic Hall of Fame class

Friday, December 20, 2019 | 4:18 PM

After a successful launch of an all-sports hall of fame last year, Jeannette saw fit to make the venture a tradition. To that end, the district announced the second Jayhawk Athletic Hall of Fame class Friday.

The 2019 inductees are:

• Earl Highlands (Class of 1963, basketball)

• Greg Hall (1976, wrestling)

• LuAnn Mills (1980, basketball)

• Bob Powell (1985), track)

• Mycal Jones (1997, football)

• Shelley Muto (1999, soccer)

• Michael Dent (2004, football)

• Carl Davis (basketball coach)

• Paul Gaudi (contributor)

• 1971 football team

Honorees in the legends division (pre-1950) are:

• Markley Barnes (football coach)

• John Love (1930, football)

• John Eibner (1934, football)

The induction banquet will be Feb. 22 at Ferrante’s Lakeview. Ticket information will be available later.

Members of the 1971 football team are asked to visit the JCSD website (, click on the ‘Extracurricular’ tab, and complete the survey at the bottom of the page.

Here is a look at the inaugural hall of fame class of 2018.

Bill Beckner Jr. is a TribLive reporter covering local sports in Westmoreland County. He can be reached at


More High School Other

Golf, football success leads Peters Township to Class 5A Trib Cup title
Neshannock captures 3rd straight Class 2A Trib Cup title
Westmoreland County high school notebook: Hempfield football assembles eclectic coaching staff
Hampton leads Class 4A standings to claim school’s 3rd Trib Cup
Greensburg Central Catholic returns to top of Class A Trib Cup standings