Eastern: Leechburg, Clairton earn top individual awards on all-conference team

Tuesday, December 14, 2021 | 5:00 AM

Leechburg quarterback Thomas Burke finished fifth among all WPIAL passers this season, earning the senior Offensive Player of the Year honors in the Eastern Conference.

Burke finished with 2,232 passing yards and 18 touchdowns for the Blue Devils, who also had senior Eli Rich named the conference’s top lineman. Both also earned first-team honors on both sides of the ball in the Class A conference.

The team was chosen by conference coaches.

Clairton’s Kanye Hawkins was selected as the top defensive player, and Bears coach Wayne Wade was coach of the year.

First team offense

Thomas Burke, Leechburg, QB, 5-9, 165, sr.

Braylan Lovelace, Leechburg, RB, 6-3, 190, jr.

Logan Dexter, Springdale, RB, 6-2, 180, sr.

Logan Kline, Leechburg, WR, 6-1, 180, jr.

Lesae Lacks, Bishop Canevin, WR, 5-5, 135, jr.

Xavier Nelson, Bishop Canevin, WR, 5-7, 160, jr.

Brooklyn Cannon, Clairton, WR, 5-11, 165, sr.

Eli Rich, Leechburg, TE, 6-5, 240, sr.

Taafe Koontz, Clairton, C, 5-10, 215, sr.

Keith Meade, Clairton, G, 6-0, 255, sr.

Joseph Semelka, Greensburg Central Catholic, G, 6-1, 235, sr.

Kanye Hawkins, Clairton, OT, 6-4, 245, sr.

Darrel Strong, Imani Christian, OT, 6-3, 275, sr.

Jason Cross, Bishop Canevin, Utility, 5-10, 150, so.

Ryan Reitler, Greensburg Central Catholic, K, 6-1, 150, sr.

Kameron Lewis, Clairton, KR, 5-6, 170, sr.

First team defense

Willie Banks, Bishop Canevin, DE, 6-3, 220, sr.

Eli Rich, Leechburg, DE, 6-5, 240, sr.

Kanye Hawkins, Clairton, DT, 6-4, 245, sr.

Jaiden Collins, Bishop Canevin, DT, 5-10, 285, so.

Braylan Lovelace, Leechburg, LB, 6-3, 190, jr.

Keshawn Harris, Bishop Canevin, LB, 5-11, 185, sr.

Kiantae Robinson, Greensburg Central Catholic, LB, 5-8, 175, sr.

Christian Wade, Clairton, LB, 5-10, 190, sr.

Thomas Burke, Leechburg, CB, 5-9, 165, sr.

Amari Mack, Greensburg Central Catholic, CB, 6-0, 180, jr.

Xavier Nelson, Bishop Canevin, CB, 5-7, 160, sr.

Brooklyn Cannon, Clairton, CB, 5-11, 165, sr.

Logan Dexter, Springdale, S, 6-2, 180, sr.

Jason Cross, Bishop Canevin, S, 5-10, 150, so.

Gio Savko, Springdale, Utility, 5-8, 200, sr.

Andrew Haus, Springdale, P, 5-10, 170, sr.

Lesae Lacks, Bishop Canevin, PR, 5-5, 135, jr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Thomas Burke, Leechburg

Defensive Player of the Year: Kanye Hawkins, Clairton

Lineman of the Year: Eli Rich, Leechburg

Coach of the Year: Wayne Wade, Clairton



Class 6A Conference

Allegheny Six Conference

Big East Conference

Northeast Conference

Big Eight Conference

Greater Allegheny Conference

Parkway Conference

Allegheny Seven Conference

Interstate Conference

Northwestern Six Conference

Allegheny Conference

Century Conference

Midwestern Conference

Three Rivers Conference

Big Seven Conference

Eastern Conference

Tri-County South Conference

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at charlan@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , ,

More High School Football

Pine-Richland’s Ethan Pillar picks up where he left off for PIAA champions
Comeback win gives Norwin football a boost in confidence
Size disadvantage not a problem for Franklin Regional nose guard Jude Gentile
WPIAL Class A football roundup: Shenango upsets No. 5 Rochester in Big 7
WPIAL Class 2A football roundup: Neshannock edges Beaver Falls in overtime