Midwestern: Laurel’s Luke McCoy, Beaver Falls’ Mekhi Clark top all-conference team

Monday, December 6, 2021 | 5:52 PM

Laurel running back Luke McCoy, who ranked among the WPIAL rushing leaders this season, was honored three times by Midwestern coaches in all-conference voting.

McCoy was named Offensive Player of the Year and earned all-conference honors on both sides of the ball. He rushed for 1,720 yards and 30 touchdowns.

Laurel, which won the conference title, earned eight first-team spots. The Spartans’ Brian Cooper was voted the conference’s top coach.

Beaver Falls’ Mekhi Clark was chosen as the conference’s top defensive player. Riverside’s Avery Wolf earned lineman of the year.

The team was chosen by conference coaches.

First team offense

Player, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

JC Voss, Mohawk, QB, 6-1, 215, sr.

Luke McCoy, Laurel, RB, 5-9, 180, sr.

Josh Pail, Freedom, RB, 5-6, 155, sr.

Peyton Weaver, Neshannock, RB, 5-8, 175, jr.

Trey Singleton, Beaver Falls, WR, 5-11, 160, jr.

Marc Conti, Mohawk, WR, 5-10, 165, sr.

Tyler Cain, Beaver Falls, TE/HB/FB, 6-3, 230, sr.

Avery Orgovan, Riverside, TE/HB/FB, 6-1, 190, sr.

Anthony Cousar, Beaver Falls, OL, 6-3, 220, sr.

Cam Caldararo, Laurel, OL, 6-1, 210, sr.

Coltin Hill, Laurel, OL, 6-3, 270, jr.

Avery Wolf, Riverside, OL, 6-1, 265, sr.

Alex Mittner, New Brighton, OL, 5-10, 230, sr.

Josh Wilkins, Mohawk, K, 5-8, 145, so.

Michael Pasquarello, Laurel, KR, 6-0, 155, sr.

First team defense

Player, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Anthony Cousar, Beaver Falls, DL, 6-3, 220, sr.

Cam Caldararo, Laurel, DL, 6-1, 210, sr.

Alex Mittner, New Brighton, DL, 5-10, 230, sr.

Avery Wolf, Riverside, DL, 6-1, 265, sr.

Tyler Cain, Beaver Falls, LB, 6-3, 230, sr.

Brighton Mariacher, Ellwood City, LB, 6-1, 190, jr.

Luke McCoy, Laurel, LB, 5-9, 180, sr.

Deshawn Harmon, New Brighton, LB, 5-9, 185, sr.

Mekhi Clark, Beaver Falls, DB, 5-11, 160, sr.

Marc Conti, Mohawk, DB, 5-10, 165, sr.

Michael Pasquarello, Laurel, DB, 6-0, 155, sr.

Keandre Williams, New Brighton, DB, 6-2, 190, sr.

Kobe DeRosa, Laurel, P, 5-11, 200, sr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Luke McCoy, Laurel

Defensive Player of the Year: Mekhi Clark, Beaver Falls

Lineman of the Year: Avery Wolf, Riverside

Coach of the Year: Brian Cooper, Laurel



Class 6A Conference

Allegheny Six Conference

Big East Conference

Northeast Conference

Big Eight Conference

Greater Allegheny Conference

Parkway Conference

Allegheny Seven Conference

Interstate Conference

Northwestern Six Conference

Allegheny Conference

Century Conference

Midwestern Conference

Three Rivers Conference

Big Seven Conference

Eastern Conference

Tri-County South Conference

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at charlan@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , , ,

More High School Football

Coach Ron Prady doesn’t want Latrobe football to be 1-hit wonder
Valley goes through growing pains in Dave Heavner’s 1st season
Returning contributors have Quaker Valley girls in position to make noise
PIAA announces semifinal sites, times for state football playoffs
Westinghouse shuts down Farrell, sets up PIAA semifinal showdown with WPIAL champion