Class 6A: Mt. Lebanon leads WPIAL all-conference honors with 9 players, coach

Tuesday, November 30, 2021 | 2:13 AM

Mt. Lebanon won its first WPIAL title in 21 years, and the undefeated Blue Devils were recognized for their season-long success with nine first-team spots on the all-conference team for Class 6A.

Their coach, Bob Palko, also was honored.

The all-conference list included Mt. Lebanon quarterback Joey Daniels, running back Alex Tecza and wide receiver Eli Heidenreich. They were joined by teammates Owen Halter, Kade Capristo, William Harvey, Jack Smith, Matt Wertz and Tommy Boehner.

The all-conference team was selected by coaches.

WPIAL runner-up Central Catholic also had nine first-team players. North Allegheny was next with seven.

First team offense

Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Julius Pruss, Canon-McMillan, C, 6-0, 250, sr.

Owen Halter, Mt. Lebanon, G, 6-1, 235, sr.

Nick Frisco, North Allegheny, G, 6-1, 255, sr.

Matt Aulicino, Central Catholic, OT, 6-7, 235, sr.

Kade Capristo, Mt. Lebanon, OT, 6-3, 275, jr.

Josh Altsman, Central Catholic, TE, 6-4, 230, sr.

Joey Daniels, Mt. Lebanon, QB, 6-1, 185, sr.

Gannon Carothers, Central Catholic, RB, 5-11, 200, sr.

Alex Tecza, Mt. Lebanon, RB, 6-0, 200, sr.

Brandon Jackson, Central Catholic, WR, 5-7, 165, sr.

Dwayne Taylor, North Allegheny, WR, 6-6, 210, sr.

Eli Heidenreich, Mt. Lebanon, At-Large, 6-0, 180, sr.

Khiryn Boyd, North Allegheny, At-Large, 5-10, 160, so.

Matt Schearer, Central Catholic, K, 5-11, 170, sr.

First team defense

Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Will Sheridan, North Allegheny, DE, 6-2, 220, sr.

Jacob Porter, North Allegheny, DE, 6-3, 205, sr.

Donovan Hinish, Central Catholic, DT, 6-2, 275, sr.

William Harvey, Mt. Lebanon, DT, 6-3, 280, sr.

JD Younger, Central Catholic, ILB, 5-11, 195, sr.

Tyree Alualu, North Allegheny, ILB, 5-10, 195, so.

Malachi Missouri, Central Catholic, OLB, 5-11, 180, sr.

Jack Smith, Mt. Lebanon, OLB, 6-3, 215, sr.

Robinson Waddell, Central Catholic, DB, 5-10, 170, sr.

Matt Wertz, Mt. Lebanon, DB, 6-0, 180, sr.

Kolin Dinkins, North Allegheny, DB, 6-1, 170, sr.

Luke Lawson, Seneca Valley, DB, 6-3, 200, jr.

Tommy Boehner, Mt. Lebanon, At-Large, 5-9, 175, sr.

Austin Winkleblech, Canon-McMillan, P, 5-11, 155, jr.

Coach of the Year: Bob Palko, Mt. Lebanon



Class 6A Conference

Allegheny Six Conference

Big East Conference

Northeast Conference

Big Eight Conference

Greater Allegheny Conference

Parkway Conference

Allegheny Seven Conference

Interstate Conference

Northwestern Six Conference

Allegheny Conference

Century Conference

Midwestern Conference

Three Rivers Conference

Big Seven Conference

Eastern Conference

Tri-County South Conference

Chris Harlan is a TribLive reporter covering sports. He joined the Trib in 2009 after seven years as a reporter at the Beaver County Times. He can be reached at

Tags: , , , , , ,

More High School Football

PIAA defends Aliquippa decision in letter to legislators; state Rep. Matzie sees ‘hit job’
Westmoreland high school notebook: Hempfield punter makes all-star roster
Westmoreland County high school notebook: New challenge awaits Latrobe after WPIAL realignment
PSFCA announces rosters for 2024 East-West all-star football games
8 WPIAL all-stars selected for 67th annual Big 33 Football Classic