Elizabeth Forward leads Interstate all-conference vote with 8 first-team picks

Thursday, December 3, 2020 | 12:22 AM

Elizabeth Forward celebrated the second undefeated regular season in school history, an achievement that was rewarded in the all-conference voting.

Senior defensive end Chase Whatton was named Defensive MVP in the Class 3A Interstate, and seven teammates also earned first-team honors in a vote of conference coaches. The Warriors’ Mike Collodi was named conference coach of the year.

Elizabeth Forward’s only other unbeaten regular season came in 1966, when it finished 8-0-1.

South Allegheny running back Antonio Epps earned the Offensive MVP honors.


Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Kory Ansell, Southmoreland, OL, 6-3, 282, jr.

Eli Podgorski, South Park, OL, 6-3, 256, sr.

Austin Caudill, Yough, OL, 6-4, 262, sr.

William Hynes, South Allegheny, OL, 6-3, 246, jr.

Logan Jester, Elizabeth Forward, OL, 6-1, 220, sr.

Davontay Brownfield, Elizabeth Forward, RB, 6-0, 200, jr.

Antonio Epps, South Allegheny, RB, 5-11, 186, sr.

C.J. Waldier, Yough, WR, 6-2, 195, sr.

Nico Mrvos, Elizabeth Forward, WR, 6-1, 187, sr.

Zach Boyd, Elizabeth Forward, WR, 6-1, 155, so.

Anthony Govern, Southmoreland, TE, 6-1, 200, jr.

Zach Cernuto, Southmoreland, QB, 6-1, 210, sr.

Gamal Marballie, Yough, ATH, 5-10, 187, sr.

Andrew Rodriquez, Southmoreland, K, 6-3, 210, sr.


Name, School, Pos., Ht., Wt., Yr.

Ian Fasano, Mt. Pleasant, DL, 5-11, 250, sr.

Pete Billey, Mt. Pleasant, DL, 6-3, 240, sr.

Nick Murphy, Elizabeth Forward, DL, 6-3. 280, jr.

Chase Whatton, Elizabeth Forward, DL, 6-5, 240, sr.

Lou Campano, South Allegheny, LB, 5-11, 235, sr.

Kavan Markwood, South Allegheny, LB, 5-10, 167, jr.

Jared Yester, Mt. Pleasant, LB, 6-0, 210, sr.

Jonas King, Mt. Pleasant, LB, 6-5, 220, sr.

Isaac Trout, Southmoreland, DB, 5-11, 150, jr.

Evan Lewis, Elizabeth Forward, DB, 5-10, 180, sr.

Luke Smith, South Park, DB, 5-8, 164, jr.

Jett Jones, South Allegheny, DB, 5-8, 156, jr.

Andrew Smith, Elizabeth Forward, P, 6-0, 175, sr.

Adam Johnson, South Park, SPEC, 5-6, 160, jr.

Offensive MVP: Antonio Epps, South Allegheny

Defensive MVP: Chase Whatton, Elizabeth Forward

Coach of the Year: Mike Collodi, Elizabeth Forward



Class 6A Conference

Allegheny Six Conference

Big East Conference

Northeast Conference

Big Eight Conference

Greater Allegheny Conference

Parkway Conference

Allegheny Seven Conference

Interstate Conference

Northwestern Six Conference

Allegheny Conference

Century Conference

Midwestern Conference

Three Rivers Conference

Big Seven Conference

Eastern Conference

Tri-County South Conference

Chris Harlan is a Tribune-Review Staff Writer. You can contact Chris by email at charlan@triblive.com or via Twitter .

Tags: , , , , , ,

More High School Football

Former Highlands QB hired to coach Golden Rams football team
WPIAL hires chief operating officer to ease workload of executive director
Franklin Regional lineman Nesler takes up cause of disabled veterans
Penn-Trafford football pipeline to Division I just getting started
Steve Sciullo settles into top spot at Hampton